Skip to content

Thematic Workshops

UC campuses are organizing virtual workshops in the thematic areas targeted in the Collaborative Research and Training Awards RFP.

Each thematic workshop addresses one area targeted in the UC-National Laboratory 2022 CRT RFP. The workshops are intended to provide a forum to discuss compelling research directions and for potential collaborators to make connections and build research teams. Attendance is open to participants from all UC campuses and the three UC national laboratories, but is not a requirement for submitting a proposal. The workshops are meant to facilitate the formation of teams, but are not proposal writing venues.

Campus organizers are planning virtual workshops in each area below. This information will be updated as it becomes available.

Please see the RFP for the scope and description of each of the three thematic areas.

PANDEMIC PREPAREDNESS AND BIOSECURITY

Dates: Wednesday, April 28 and Thursday, April 29, 2021 at 1:00-5:00pm PT

To register and for additional information, please visit the workshop website.

Campus Contacts:

UCB: David Trinkle (dtrinkle@berkeley.edu)
UCD: Paul Dodd (pdodd@ucdavis.edu
UCSC: John MacMillan (jomacmil@ucsc.edu)

National Lab Contacts:

LANL: Nan Sauer (nsauer@lanl.gov) and Kirsten McCabe (kjmccab@lanl.gov)
LBNL: Kristin Balder-Froid (KHBalder-Froid@lbl.gov)
LLNL: Annie Kersting (kersting1@llnl.gov), Amy Gryshuk (gryshuk2@llnl.gov), and Shankar Sundaram (sundaram1@llnl.gov)

FRONTIERS OF MESOSCALE MATERIALS AND HIGH ENERGY DENSITY SCIENCE

Dates: Monday, May 3 and Tuesday, May 4, 2021 at 1:00-5:00pm PT

For additional information, please visit the workshop website to register or view the workshop flyer.

Campus Contact:

Melinda Laroco Boehm (mboehm2@ucmerced.edu)

National Lab Contacts:

LANL: Nan Sauer (nsauer@lanl.gov) and Alan Hurd (ajhurd@lanl.gov)
LLNL: Alison Saunders (saunders15@llnl.gov), Nathan Barton (barton22@llnl.gov), and Rick Kraus (kraus4@llnl.gov)

CLEAN, RENEWABLE ENERGY AND DECARBONIZATION

Date: Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 8:00am-5:00pm PT

To register and for additional information, please visit the workshop website

Campus Contacts:

UCI: Jack Brouwer (jb@nfcrc.uci.edu)
UCR: Matthew Barth (barth@ece.ucr.edu)
UCSD: George Tynan (gtynan@eng.ucsd.edu)