UC Tech Awards Program

The UC Tech Awards Program celebrates the achievements of UC individuals or teams in designing, implementing, operating, or supporting high-impact technology initiatives. It promotes an inclusive UC Tech community by recognizing the technology contributions of people from all areas of expertise, including IT, research, academia, and business.

The program is sponsored by the UC Information Technology Leadership Council (ITLC), and the awards are selected by a committee of UC location chief information officers. The awards provide universitywide recognition for technology efforts that advance the university's mission of teaching, research, public service, and patient care; and/or improve the effectiveness of academic processes or business operations.

The annual call for submissions generally is announced in February/March with a submission deadline in May. The committee meets by early July and awards are presented at the annual UC Tech Conference.

The UC Tech Awards Program includes awards for projects and awards for individuals or teams. The program encompasses the following:

  • Sautter Award for Innovation in Information Technology (projects)
  • Awards for collaboration, IT security, operational excellence, and design (individuals or teams)
  • Lifetime Impact Award (individual)

Program description

Application process, eligibility, selection criteria

Selection Committee

Members by year

Current and Previous Awards

Applications of award winners

How to apply (Podcast)

Learn about the UC Tech awards application process.

Prior Sautter Award Program

Program information from 2000 – 2021