The Electronic Accessibility Leadership Team recommends that University of California Web developers conform to the WCAG 2.0 level AA standards for all Web-based information.

Description of WCAG 2.0

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 are a technical standard for making Web content more accessible.

Levels of conformance (A, AA, AAA)

WCAG 2.0 guidelines are categorized into three levels of conformance to meet the needs of different groups and situations: A (lowest), AA (mid range), and AAA (highest).

Tips for getting started

Guidelines for web developers

Practical guidance for web developers on creating accessible websites.

Tips for getting started

Guidelines for content developers

Practical guidance for writers and content developers to ensure website content supports accessibility.

Transcripts and captions

Guidelines for creating transcripts and captions

Media posted on the Web should be made accessible to individuals with disabilities, including visually and hearing impaired people.