Multicampus Research Units

A Multicampus Research Unit (MRU) is a research unit established by UC to provide a supportive infrastructure for long-term research and/or creative work being carried out across multiple UC campuses and/or affiliated national laboratories.

MRUs may serve the following functions:

  • Facilitate research and research collaborations at multiple campuses and/or affiliated labs;
  • Disseminate research results through research conferences, meetings, and other activities;
  • Strengthen graduate and undergraduate education by providing students with training opportunities and access to facilities;
  • Enhance opportunities to seek extramural research funds; and
  • Carry out University and public service programs in the MRU’s area of expertise.

Every MRU has one host campus that will host the administrative headquarters of the unit or program and will be responsible for overall administration and reporting. The 2014 Compendium and other MRU policy documents are listed in the right-hand column. To learn more about MRUs and MRU reporting and review requirements, please see the MRU pages on the UC Research Initiatives website. To learn about other statewide or multicampus programs, click here.

List of Current Multicampus Research Units
Name Lead Campus
Bioengineering Institute of California Davis
Dickens Project Santa Cruz
Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation (IGCC) San Diego
UC Humanities Research Institute (UCHRI) Irvine
UC Institute of Transportation Studies Berkeley, Davis, Irvine, UCLA
UC MEXUS Riverside
UC Observatories Santa Cruz