Doby Award


A highlight of each year's CAP Forum is the presentation of the Dr. Winston C. Doby Impact Award. The award is given to two exceptional UC professionals chosen by colleagues in recognition of their individual commitment to improving educational opportunities for California students. Like Winston Doby himself, these two people should demonstrate an unwavering dedication to student access, advocacy and social justice, whatever the length of their tenure at UC. Learn more about Dr. Doby.

Two new recipients will be announced at CAP Forum 2019.

Previous Recipients


  • Alfred Herrera, UCLA
  • Debbe Pounds, UCLA


  • Ebony Lewis, UC Santa Cruz
  • Jorge Aguilar, UC Merced


  • Gail Kaufman, UC Berkeley
  • Stephanie Reyes-Tuccio, UC Irvine


  • Juan Francisco Lara, UC Irvine (awarded posthumously)
  • Michele Dyke, UC Davis (awarded posthumously)


  • Britt Ortiz, UC Santa Barbara
  • Catherine R. Cooper, UC Santa Cruz


  • Penny Edgert, Intersegmental Coordinating Committee
  • Maria Rocha-Ruiz, UC Santa Cruz