Privacy Compliance

What does Privacy mean at University of California?

In 1972, the People of the State of California voted to include privacy as an inalienable right in Article 1, Section 1, of the California Constitution. Two years shy of the 50th anniversary of this privacy milestone, California continues to lead the nation in thought and action on privacy. 2020 will see several new pieces of privacy legislation go into effect at a time when concern over data breaches, use of data tracking people’s behavior, and biometric surveillance technologies have become part of the national discourse.
 
The University of California has also long played its own part in privacy thought leadership – in its mission of teaching and research and as stewards of the public trust. Beyond compliance with the law, the University has adopted the UC Statement of Privacy Values and the UC Privacy Principles to guide its policy development, decision-making, and practices. These values are built on the recognition of the important role privacy plays in academic and intellectual freedom and on respect for members of the University community and our vast extended family.
Fundamentally, privacy is about trust. It is about control over one’s own space and data and the ability to conduct activities without concerns of or actual observation. As a member of the University of California, you need to be able to trust the University with information about yourself. Equally, you need to ensure the University is a trusted partner with others’ information.
Have a question about privacy? Talk to your campus privacy official! See UC Privacy Offices! They can provide you with information about laws and policies, give guidance on how to approach specific situations, or connect you to other campus offices as appropriate. And it’s a two-way street: your privacy official is always looking for good ideas on how to communicate opportunities and risks around privacy.

UC Privacy Offices – Contact Information

Webpage 

Campus Privacy Official

Email 

Phone

UC Berkeley

Scott Seaborn

privacyoffice@berkeley.edu

510-664-7775

UC Davis

Zainab Shakoor

privacy@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2407

UC Irvine

Thea Bullock

bullockt@uci.edu

949-824-2312

UC Los Angeles

Kent Wada

Kent@ucla.edu

310-206-3874

UC Merced

Eric Kalmin

ekalmin@ucmerced.edu 

209-383-8655

UC Riverside

Ian Harazduk

ianh@ucr.edu

951-827-8246

UC San Diego

Pegah K. Parsi

PParsi@ucsd.edu

858-822-4439

UC San Francisco

Mark Mayeda

Mark.Mayeda2@ucsf.edu

415-514-9352

UC Santa Barbara

Jennifer Lofthus

Kip Bates

Jennifer.Lofthus@ucsb.edu

kbates@housing.ucsb.edu

805-893-7025

UCSanta Cruz

Denise Dolezal

privacy@ucsc.edu

831-459-4003

UC ANR

Robin Sanchez

rgsanchez@ucanr.edu

530-750-1235

UC LBL

Rainier Elias

 rainier@lbl.gov

510-486-4725

UCOP

Noelle Vidal

Noelle.vidal@ucop.edu

510-287-0725

UC Privacy Resources