Skip to content

2020 Awards

The University of California is pleased to announce the results of the 2020 UC Laboratory Fees Research Program competition.

UC Multicampus-National Lab Collaborative Research and Training Awards

Six proposals, totaling more than $21 million over three years, were awarded in three targeted areas of research that leverage UC-national lab synergy: accelerator research, quantum information science, and wildfire-related research. Collaborations represent genuine engagement among faculty, laboratory scientists and students across UC campuses and Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories.

Topological Materials for Majorana-based Quantum Information

  • Lead Principal Investigator: Monica Allen, Ph.D., UC San Diego
  • Collaborating Sites: Davis, Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, Los Alamos

Transforming prescribed fire practices for california

  • Lead Principal Investigator: Tirtha Banerjee, Ph.D., UC Irvine
  • Collaborating Sites: Berkeley, Riverside, Los Alamos

Assessment and Mitigation of Wildfire Induced Air Pollution

  • Lead Principal Investigator: Michele Barbato, Ph.D., UC Davis
  • Collaborating Sites: Berkeley, Irvine, Los Angeles, Merced, Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos

Enabling Scalable Quantum Computing

  • Lead Principal Investigator: Boerge Hemmerling, Ph.D., UC Riverside
  • Collaborating Sites: Berkeley, Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, Lawrence Livermore

mitigating and Managing Extreme Wildfire Risk in California

  • Lead Principal Investigator: Charles Jones, Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
  • Collaborating Sites: Berkeley, San Diego, Lawrence Livermore, Lawrence Berkeley

Advanced Detectors for XFELS and Proton Accelerators

  • Lead Principal Investigator: Eric Prebys, Ph.D., UC Davis
  • Collaborating Sites: Irvine, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Los Alamos, Lawrence Berkeley


Six UC students were selected from among a highly competitive pool of applicants as recipients of In-Residence Graduate Fellowships. These Fellows will have the unique opportunity to conduct research and receive training at a national laboratory.

  • Michael Bull, UC Davis (Los Alamos)
    Project Title: From Adhesion to Thermodynamics and Kinetics of Polymers
  • Benjamin Cohen-Stead, UC Davis (Los Alamos)
    Project Title: Langevin Methods for Quantum Electron-Phonon Simulations
  • Naniette Coleman, UC Berkeley (Los Alamos)
    Project Title: Privacy Risks, Thoughts, Actions, and Regulations
  • William Delmas, UC Merced (Lawrence Livermore)
    Project Title: Perovskite Quantum Dot Single Photon Emitters
  • Drew Melchert, UC Santa Barbara (Lawrence Livermore)
    Project Title: 3D Printing with Acoustophoresis for Microstructure Control
  • Hannah Shulman, UC Riverside (Lawrence Livermore)
    Project Title: Environmental Drivers of Desert Microbial Nitrogen Cycling