

Michael V. Drake, MD President June 3, 2022

Office of the President 1111 Franklin St.

1111 Franklin St.

Oakland, CA 94607

Chair, Joint Legislative Budget Committee
1020 N Street, Room 553

universityofcalifornia.edu

Dear Senator Skinner:

Sacramento, California 95814

CAMPUSES
Berkeley
Davis
Irvine
UCLA
Merced
Riverside

San Diego San Francisco Santa Barbara Santa Cruz

MEDICAL CENTERS

Davis Irvine UCLA San Diego San Francisco

NATIONAL LABORATORIES
Lawrence Berkeley
Lawrence Livermore
Los Alamos

DIVISION OF AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Section 66018.5 of the Education Code requires the University of California to report to the Legislature on any manner of preferential treatment in admission to applicants on the basis of their relationships to donors or alumni of the institution. The University of California's policies prohibit preferential treatment in admission on the basis of an applicant's relationship to donors or to University alumni. Any action by an employee to admit a student improperly would be contrary to our policies and expectations of ethical behavior. If an action to this effect is alleged, an investigation will take place. Should that investigation substantiate an improper admission, the University will share the results of that investigation with the Legislature.

If you have any questions, Associate Vice President David Alcocer would be pleased to speak with you. David can be reached by telephone at (510) 987-9113, or by e-mail at David.Alcocer@ucop.edu.

Sincerely,

Michael V. Drake, MD

President

cc: Senate Budget and Fiscal Review

The Honorable John Laird, Chair

Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee #1

(Attn: Mr. Christopher Francis) (Attn: Ms. Jean-Marie McKinney) The Honorable Kevin McCarty, Chair Assembly Budget Subcommittee #2

(Attn: Mr. Mark Martin) (Attn: Ms. Carolyn Nealon)

Mr. Hans Hemann, Joint Legislative Budget Committee

Ms. Erika Contreras, Secretary of the Senate

Ms. Amy Leach, Office of the Chief Clerk of the Assembly

Page 2

Ms. Sue Parker, Office of the Chief Clerk of the Assembly

Ms. Tammy Weis, Office of the Chief Clerk of the Assembly

Mr. Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance

Ms. Rebecca Kirk, Department of Finance

Mr. Jack Zwald, Department of Finance

Mr. Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst Office

Ms. Jennifer Pacella, Legislative Analyst Office

Mr. Scott Ogus, Legislative Analyst Office

Provost and Executive Vice President Michael Brown

Vice President and Vice Provost Yvette Gullatt

Associate Vice Provost Elizabeth Halimah

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Nathan Brostrom

Senior Vice President Brent Colburn

Associate Vice President David Alcocer

Associate Vice President and Director Kieran Flaherty