UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

1111 Franklin Street Oakland, CA 94607-5200 Phone: (510) 987-9074 http://www.ucop.edu

June 30, 2020

The Honorable Holly J. Mitchell Chair, Joint Legislative Budget Committee 1020 N Street, Room 553 Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Senator Mitchell:

Section 66018.5 of the Education Code requires the University of California to report to the Legislature on any manner of preferential treatment in admission to applicants on the basis of their relationships to donors or alumni of the institution. This letter is in response to this requirement and in lieu of a report. The University of California does not provide preferential treatment in admission on the basis of an applicant's relationship to donors or to University alumni.

If you have any questions, Associate Vice President David Alcocer would be pleased to speak with you. David can be reached by telephone at (510) 987-9113, or by e-mail at David.Alcocer@ucop.edu.

Yours very truly,

/Janet Napolitano

President

Enclosure

cc: Senate Budget and Fiscal Review

The Honorable Richard D. Roth, Chair

Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee #1

(Attn: Ms. Anita Lee)

(Attn: Ms. Jean-Marie McKinney)

The Honorable Kevin McCarty, Chair

Assembly Budget Subcommittee #2

(Attn: Mr. Mark Martin)

(Attn: Ms. Carolyn Nealon)

Ms. Jennifer Troia, Joint Legislative Budget Committee

Ms. Erika Contreras, Secretary of the Senate

The Honorable Holly J. Michell June 30, 2020 Page 2

Ms. Tina McGee, Legislative Analyst's Office

Ms. Amy Leach, Office of the Chief Clerk of the Assembly

Mr. E. Dotson Wilson, Chief Clerk of the Assembly

Mr. Jeff Bell, Department of Finance

Mr. Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance

Ms. Rebecca Kirk, Department of Finance

Mr. Brian Rutledge, Department of Finance

Mr. Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst's Office

Ms. Jennifer Pacella, Legislative Analyst's Office

Mr. Jason Constantouros, Legislative Analyst's Office

Executive Vice President and Provost Michael Brown

Vice Provost and Chief Outreach Officer Yvette Gullatt

Associate Vice President Elizabeth Halimah

Interim Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Paul Jenny

Senior Vice President Claire Holmes

Associate Vice President David Alcocer

Associate Vice President and Director Kieran Flaherty