Program description

Larry L. Sautter Award for Innovation in Information Technology - 2021

Deadline: May 21, 2021

Larry L. Sautter, UCR's associate vice chancellor for Computing and Communications, led the Riverside campus in technological innovation through the entrepreneurial and efficient use of resources. In 2000, the UC Information Technology Leadership Council (ITLC) created this award program in his memory.

The annual Sautter Award Program recognizes information technology projects that advance the university's mission of teaching, research, public service, and patient care; and/or that improve the effectiveness of academic, business or administrative processes.

Selection criteria reflect the ITLC’s commitment to promoting IT innovation and collaboration in support of the UC mission by using resources efficiently across the university system. All award applications are posted on the program website after the award announcement each year to encourage the exchange of innovative ideas and solutions.


Faculty and staff members in any department at any of the ten UC campuses, six health systems, the UC Office of the President (UCOP), Agriculture and Natural Resources, Hastings College of the Law, and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory are eligible to submit applications. Cross-location and cross-functional teams are encouraged to submit applications.

There is no limit on the number of applications an individual or team may submit. Please note, though, that multiple components of large projects should be incorporated into and described via a single application, rather than submitting separate applications for each smaller project component.

Projects submitted for consideration must represent the operational deployment of information technology at UC within the last three years. They may support any aspect of the university enterprise, whether the academic or research mission, student life, university business operations, patient care, or public service. They should reflect the qualities listed in the selection criteria, although it is recognized that not every project will necessarily meet all criteria.

Selection Criteria

The selection committee ranks projects based on all the criteria listed below. The project should:

  • Be innovative — present a unique, new, or different solution to a problem. The project demonstrates the creative use of limited resources, the development of an effective cross-functional collaboration, or a new application of technology to a solve a problem.

  • Have the potential to effect broad positive change in the university environment. The project has or could have significant beneficial impact in the areas of the academic/research mission, student life, business operations, patient care, or public service.
  • Demonstrate collaboration. The project was designed and implemented through a strong collaborative engagement with a functional partner or other IT team(s) on campus or at another location.
  • Improve operational efficiency or usability/accessibility. The project improves the user experience, such as through simpler processes, enhanced access to information, or greater usability in all formats by all users, including people with disabilities.
  • Be shareable, interoperable, or readily implementable elsewhere. The project can be adopted by other departments or campuses, avoiding design, development, and operational costs; and it leverages existing infrastructure or can be easily integrated with existing services and processes.

Selection Committee

The Sautter Award Program selection committee is composed of four members of the ITLC on a rotating basis, as well as an ITLC member from the UC Office of the President. The selection committee determines the award winners on the basis of submitted materials and in accordance with the published selection criteria. The names of committee members are listed on the program website after the selections have been announced each year.

Application Procedure

The deadline for submission of applications is May 21, 2021, by 5:00 p.m. Submissions may be submitted by the project sponsor or the individual(s) who worked on the project.

Submissions should be succinct, use plain English, and must not exceed 5 pages total. Submissions must include:

  1. Project title on the submission document
  2. Submitter’s name, title, and contact information
  3. Names of project leader(s) and team members
  4. A simple short statement (even just one sentence) summarizing what the project does
  5. A project narrative that:
    • Describes the problem being solved and the project goals
    • Emphasizes the solution and innovation, rather than technical detail
    • Tells how the solution has impacted customers/users
    • Explains how project success was measured
    • Highlights collaborations with other locations, departments, or teams
    • Provides the timeframe of deployment
    • Briefly describes the technology utilized
    • Optional: Provides relevant screenshots or urls (included in the 5 page limit)

To apply, please submit an accessible Word document or accessible PDF document (including alt text for images) with the requested information on the Sautter Award Submission FormIf you have questions, contact or (510) 987-0638.

Announcement of Awards

The following awards are given: Up to three Golden Awards and up to two Silver Awards for Innovation in Information Technology, and up to five honorable mentions. Teams receiving Gold and Silver Awards will receive a commemorative wall plaque. Honorable mention recipients will receive a certificate.

Awards will be announced at the UC Tech Conference, August 2021, at UCLA.