UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



OFFICE OF THE PROVOST AND EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT 1111 Franklin Street, 12th Floor Oakland, California 94607-5200

May 8, 2025

CHANCELLORS
ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR STEVEN CHEUNG
LABORATORY DIRECTOR MICHAEL WITHERELL
ANR VICE PRESIDENT GLENDA HUMISTON

Re: Issuance of Revisions to Academic Personnel Manual (APM) Section 675, Veterinary Medicine Salary Administration

Dear Colleagues:

I am formally issuing revised Academic Personnel Manual Section 675, Veterinary Medicine Salary Administration. The revised policy, which is effective immediately, 2025, may be found online on the <u>policy issuance website</u>.

Background

The approved policy revisions respond to the need to clarify that language that prohibited faculty members paid on the Veterinary Medicine Salary Scale from participating in other compensation plans applies to the Health Sciences Compensation Plan (HSCP). APM - 670, the Health Sciences Compensation Plan, prohibits the use of state funds for the portion of base salary that exceeds the fiscal-year salary scale. This provision is incompatible with HSCP participation by faculty paid on the Veterinary Medicine Salary Scale, as the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (SVM) uses state funding to supplement the portion of base salary that exceeds the fiscal-year salary scale, as required by policy. The approved revisions to APM - 675 allow faculty members paid on the Veterinary Medicine Salary Scale to participate in the Negotiated Salary Program (NSP) (APM - 672) and clarify the circumstances under which SVM faculty members may participate in the NSP or any future compensation or salary plan.

From January 9, 2025, through April 9, 2025, Systemwide Academic Personnel (SWAP) and Faculty Affairs and Academic Programs distributed the draft policy revisions for systemwide review. Comments submitted were supportive of the policy revisions.

Key Policy Revisions

The revised policy reflects the following key provisions:

• Clarification that faculty members paid on the Veterinary Medicine Salary Scale are not permitted to participate in the HSCP (APM - 670).

• Clarification that participation by faculty members paid on the Veterinary Medicine Salary Scale in the Negotiated Salary Program (APM - 672) or any future compensation or salary plan is predicated on the requirement that faculty first fully meet the minimum contribution requirements specified in APM - 675-8.d, 675-8.e, and 675-8.f.

I wish to thank all those involved in the consultation regarding the revisions of this important APM policy. Your contributions are deeply appreciated.

Best wishes.

Katherine S. Newman UC System Provost and

Natherine Steuman

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

UC Berkeley Chancellor's Distinguished Professor of Sociology & Public Policy

Attachment

1. APM - 675, Veterinary Medicine Salary Administration

cc: President Drake

Executive Vice Chancellors/Provosts

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Nava

Executive Vice President Rubin

Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer Bustamante

Vice President Brown

Vice President and Chief of Staff Kao

Interim Vice Provost Haynes

Vice President Gullatt

Vice President Lloyd

Vice President Maldonado

Academic Council Vice Chair Palazoglu

Vice Provosts/Vice Chancellors of Academic Affairs/Academic Personnel

Deputy Provost Lee

Deputy General Counsel Woodall

Assistant Vice Provosts/Vice Chancellors for Academic Personnel

Associate Vice President Matella

Associate Vice President McRae

Chief Policy Advisor McAuliffe

Associate Vice Provost Jennings

Executive Director Anders

Executive Director Lin

Chief of Staff Beechem

Deputy Chief HR Officer and Chief of Staff Henderson

Chief of Staff Levintov

May 8, 2025 Page 3

> Chief Human Resources Officer Crosson Principal Counselor Mastro Director Chin Director Weston-Dawkes Associate Director Jue Associate Director Woolston Assistant Director LaBriola Policy Analyst Durrin Policy Analyst Miller Policy Analyst Wilson