The Role of Contributions to Diversity in Faculty Hiring and Academic Review

Friday, October 25, 2013

This one-day Roundtable (9:00am-4:00pm) will convene UC faculty and academic administrators who play key roles in recruitment and retention of STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) faculty. The keynote speaker, UC San Diego Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla, will address the connection between diversity and excellence. In addition, UC faculty and administrators will present research and practice related to diversity in hiring and in academic review, including the following topics:

  • Keynote Address by Pradeep K. Khosla, UC San Diego Chancellor, on the link between diversity and excellence
  • UC San Diego’s use of “Contributions to Diversity” criterion for faculty applicants, with a discussion of case studies
  • Data and Analysis session, including preliminary results of a longitudinal study of STEM faculty career paths
  • Systemwide Panel on “Contributions to Diversity” in academic review: experiences and best practices
  • Bringing best practices back to campus, and potential practices for systemwide adoption
Download the announcement (pdf)

Who should attend

The Roundtable is designed primarily for faculty and academic administrators who are decision-makers with regard to faculty careers: i.e. STEM deans and department chairs, EVCs and vice provosts, search committee chairs, faculty leaders (Senate Council and committee members and chairs), CAP chairs and members, faculty Affirmative Action and Diversity Committee chairs and members, and equity advisors.

Logistics

Details to be announced closer to the date of the Roundtable.

Steering Committee representatives:

  • UCB: Angelica Stacy (astacy@berkeley.edu)
  • UCD: Maureen Stanton (mlstanton@ucdavis.edu)
  • UCI: Douglas Haynes (dhaynes@uci.edu)
  • UCLA: Susan Drange Lee (sdrangelee@conet.ucla.edu)
  • UCM: Juan Meza (jcmeza@ucmerced.edu)
  • UCR: Yolanda Moses (yolanda.moses@ucr.edu)
  • UCSD: Jeanne Ferrante (ferranteavc@ucsd.edu)
  • UCSF: Renee Navarro (renee.navarro@ucsf.edu)
  • UCSC: Herbert Lee (herbie@soe.ucsc.edu)
  • UCSB: Maria Herrera Sobek (maria.sobek@evc.ucsb.edu)