Conversations about Women in the Workplace

PACSW held a series of conversations about women's leadership in the UCOP workplace, from November 2013 to October 2014.

This was a participatory series of conversations about women's leadership in the workplace. The topics of the 12 monthly sessions are inspired by Sheryl Sandberg's book Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead. Each session was facilitated by a member of PACSW, except the opening session which was facilitated by Dr. Amy Levine, an expert on women and leadership.


Date Topic Resources

Fri., Nov. 22, 2013

Opening Session with Dr. Amy Levine, certified executive coach and former Executive Director of UCSF Center for Gender Equity

Women and Men in the Workplace (ppt)

Essential steps handout (doc)

Thurs., Dec. 5, 2013 The Leadership Ambition Gap Session 2 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., Jan. 9, 2014 Sit at the Table Session 3 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., Feb. 6, 2014 Success and Likeability Session 4 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., March 6, 2014 It's a Jungle Gym, Not a Ladder Session 5 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., April 3, 2014 Are You My Mentor? Session 6 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., May 1, 2014 Seek and Speak Your Truth Session 7 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., June 5, 2014 Don't Leave Before You Leave Session 8 Notes (pdf)
Tues., July 1, 2014 Make Your Partner a Real Partner
Thurs., Aug. 7, 2014 The Myth of Doing it All
Thurs., Sept. 4, 2014 Let’s Start Talking About It Session 11 Notes (pdf)
Thurs., Oct. 2, 2014 Working Together Toward Equality