Thursday, October 21, 1999
Chuck McFadden (510) 987-9193


University of California President Richard C. Atkinson announced the
appointment today (Oct. 21) of a state Advisory Group on Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Disposal.

The group is charged with making recommendations to Gov. Gray Davis on workable alternatives for disposal of low-level radioactive waste. Its 17 members represent a variety of viewpoints that includes business, the environment, government and education. At the governor's request, Atkinson is serving as chair.

Members are scheduled to hold their first meeting at UCLA on Nov. 17. The group's recommendations are due to the governor by the end of March 2000.

Low-level radioactive waste has been generated in California since the 1950s by hospitals, universities, research institutions, government
facilities, nuclear power plants and other industries.

"It is my hope that this diverse and highly qualified group of Californians will provide real assistance to the state in how we best respond to the longstanding problem of low-level radioactive waste disposal and end the uncertainty that has continued for too many years," Atkinson said.

"We will consult with organizations and interested parties during the
coming months to gain perspectives and information from a wide variety of individuals and organizations," Atkinson added.

In addition to the advisory group, Atkinson will appoint a panel of
scientific experts to provide data and analysis of options to advisory
group members.

Appointed to the Advisory Group on Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal are:

Gloria Anderson, League of Women Voters

Diana Bonta, director, California Department of Health Services

Albert Carnesale, chancellor, UCLA

Nora Helton, tribal chair, Fort Mojave Indian Tribe

Winston Hickox, secretary, California Environmental Protection Agency

Robert C. Hight, director, California Department of Fish and Game

Michael Paparian, the Sierra Club

Edward E. Penhoet, dean of the School of Public Health, UC Berkeley

Alan Post, retired state legislative analyst

Harold Ray, executive vice president, generation, Southern California Edison

Theodore D. Roth, president and CEO, Alliance Pharmaceutical Corp.

Gregory M. Rueger, senior vice president, Pacific Gas and Electric Co.

Andrew R. Scherer, senior director of facilities and engineering, Genentech Inc.

Sam Schuchat, executive director, Federation of State Conservation Voter Leagues

Alan Sieroty, president of Sieroty Co. Inc.

Gary R. Stephany, president, Health Care Association San Diego and Imperial Counties

# # #